City of Weston Home Page
City Clerk
Election & Voting Information
The Weston City Commission is comprised of five members, being the Mayor and four Commissioners.

The Mayor and Commissioners are elected at large, meaning that all voters can vote for the Mayor and each Commissioner, and the Mayor and Commissioners are elected by a plurality, meaning that the candidate receiving the highest number of votes is elected. There are no run-off elections.

A person elected to the position of Mayor or Commissioner is limited to two consecutive terms, and may again be a candidate for election after having not served in that position for one full term. A Commissioner having served two consecutive terms may be a candidate for the position of Mayor immediately thereafter, and a Mayor having served two consecutive terms may be a candidate for the position of Commissioner immediately thereafter.

Compensation for the position of Mayor is $13,000 annually, and for the position of Commissioner is $10,000 annually, and is set by the electorate of the city.


A Municipal Special Election will be held on March 14, 2017, to fill the vacancy in City Commission Seat 3. Voting for this Special Election is held on only one day: Tuesday, March 14, 2017 from 7:00AM to 7:00PM - there is no early voting.

Qualifying: The qualifying period has closed.
It was held from Noon on Tuesday, January 3, 2017, through noon on Tuesday, January 10, 2017.

» Qualifications as stated in the City Charter

Two residents qualified for the vacant City Commission Seat 3.

1. Byron L. Jaffe

2. Jim Norton

Where Do I Vote?
Weston Registered Voters will vote at the precinct location designated on their Voter Registration Card.
Find your precinct location

Note that new Florida voters must be registered at least 29 days before the election, to vote in that election. Visit for details.

City Commission Election and Term of Office: Each Commissioner and the Mayor are elected at-large for 4-year terms. All registered Weston voters may vote for a candidate in each open seat. The City is divided into four areas as delineated on the Commission Residential Seat Area map and assigned numbered seats 1, 2, 3, and 4. One Commissioner shall be elected to each Seat. The Mayor is elected at large to a four-year term, and may reside in any area of the City.

To qualify to run for election for a Commission Seat a person must be a resident of the Residential Area that he/she is running for, and have resided continuously within the Residential Area for which election is being sought for at least one year preceding the date of filing.

Individuals who are interested in becoming a candidate for the City of Weston, please contact the City Clerk for more information.

Regular city elections will be held on the same date as the November general election, in even-numbered years.

The next General Election is scheduled for: Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Patricia A. Bates, MMC,
City Clerk
Weston City Hall
17200 Royal Palm Boulevard
Weston, Florida 33326
Fax: 954-385-2010
Hours 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. Monday thru Thursday, and 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. Friday


Voter registration is handled through the office of the Broward County Supervisor of Elections. Voter registration applications are available on the Supervisor of Elections website, at City Hall and at all county libraries and drivers license bureaus.

To download an application, verify your voter registration status or to inquire as to where you go to vote, log on to the Supervisor of Elections website at or call them at 954-357-7050.

Supervisor of Elections
Main Office 954-357-7050
115 S. Andrews Avenue, Room 102, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301
Hours: 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM